Queens 2016


  • James Corbett 499.060

Other Winners

  • Rohan McNaught – TR/B
  • Gerard Loughran – TR/C
  • Nick Williamson – F STD A
  • Nathan Johnson – F STD B
  • Mike Waites – F OPEN
  • Jeffrey Eppleston – F/TR

The Queens Prize was shot on electronic targets for the first time.

James Corbett wrapped up his 30th Queens Prize taking the 2016 QRA title with another commanding performance in Brisbane.

One of Australia’s greatest marksmen who hails from Benalla in Victoria, missed just a single bulllseye in the 100-shot match for a convincing win.

His three day aggregate 499 with 60 centres left him two shots clear of Grafton’s Nick Abrahall on 497.49. Mark Thurtell from Lyndhurst in Sydney placed third and also scored the Queens-Duncan Match five-day grand aggregate.

A quality field of 220 shooters from around Australia and New Zealand and a squad from Japan took part in the competion. The match finished in challenging wind conditions at 900 and 1000 yards which tested many of the leading contenders.

Natives shooter Ro McNaught was a convincing six-shot winner of the B Grade Queens while Gerard Loughran from Gatton won C Grade.

Nick Williamson from Gemfields again found the Belmont range a happy hunting ground beating a strong F Standard scope rifle field.

Mike Waites from Warragul won the F Open Queens and Jeffrey Eppleston from Bathurst prevailed in F Target Rifle.

Cannon Hill member Mark Fairbairn won the F Target Rifle Grand Aggregate while Ann Chinnery from Marian won the B Grade aggregate and Josh Pratt from Ipswich C Grade.

Archer Trophy & F Class Challenge

About Us

The Queensland Rifle Association fosters target rifle shooting and firearms training through our clubs.   Different classes of rifle shooting are conducted by our Clubs under the Standard Shooting Rules (SSRs) of the National Rifle Association of Australia (NRAA).

NRAA Quicklinks

Our Location

Belmont Shooting Complex